Using an Apple MacBook Pro with KTuner V2

Questions about software installation and registration

Using an Apple MacBook Pro with KTuner V2

Postby barryaclarke » Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:32 pm

I recently purchased a KTuner V2 for my 2016 Accord V6 coupe. First of all, I am a real novice with computers. I did a search on this forum for this subject and didn't get any hits. I need to know if I can use my Apple MacBook Pro for installation of the KTuner? It seems like everything I read refers to a PC. I also have an old PC laptop that weighs 11 pounds, runs only an hour on the battery and the MacBook is only 3 pounds and runs 8 hours and is the reason why I am asking? Thanks for anyone who can help...
barryaclarke
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 5:41 am

Re: Using an Apple MacBook Pro with KTuner V2

Postby KTuner » Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:59 pm

You can run Bootcamp (See Apple for directions) or Parallels to have Windows on the Mac.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Using an Apple MacBook Pro with KTuner V2

Postby barryaclarke » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:04 pm

After reading about "bootcamp" and with me not have a lot of computer knowledge, wouldn't it just be simpler to use my good old paper weight pc when installing the KTuner hardware. From what I have read, and I may not be correct, once it is downloaded, you can change back to the original vehicle program without the pc, if for instance you need to take the car into Honda for warranty work, correct?
barryaclarke
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 5:41 am

Re: Using an Apple MacBook Pro with KTuner V2

Postby KTuner » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:15 pm

Good old paperweights aren't good for flashing. If it's old and slow it may become a problem.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Using an Apple MacBook Pro with KTuner V2

Postby barryaclarke » Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:45 am

Toshiba four core processor with an updated 512 ssd hd but is slow comparing it to our standards of today...
barryaclarke
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 5:41 am

Re: Using an Apple MacBook Pro with KTuner V2

Postby KTuner » Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:05 pm

It may do the trick! See how reactive the software is and make sure it's not in a low power mode.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm


Return to KTuner Software Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests