Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby nogills » Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:32 am

Just got my Ktuner 1.2 and installed software successfully. I connected the Ktuner to my computer just to make sure it connects correctly and it asked me if I wanted to lock my Ktuner to the ECU. I am not connected to my car, I'm in my office. I have not connected to my car at all yet. Is this normal? What ECU is it trying to lock to if I am not in my car?

It even had an ECU number for the ECU it was wanting to lock to. ?

Just want to make sure my Ktuner and software is functioning properly before I connect it to the car!
nogills
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:28 am

Re: Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby KTuner » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:47 pm

That would mean it may have been previously locked for testing. If you plug it in to the vehicle with the key on it should be blinking blue if unlocked, green if locked.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1917
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby nogills » Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:18 pm

Thank you! successfully got it locked to my car. One more question though, probably a stupid question so I apologize, just want to be 100% sure!

When choosing my base tune, it gives me 2 options:
Factory 5BA-A6X CVT
Factory 5BA-A66 CVT

If ECU # in Ktuner units panel is 378205BAA650M1 , I am assuming I need to choose "Factory 5BA-A6X CVT" right?

Thanks!
nogills
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:28 am

Re: Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby KTuner » Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:40 pm

Verify the locked VIN matches your VIN and you should be all good. If not, definitely contact the dealer you purchased from.

Match your software number, in the software column, like it mentions in the description.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1917
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby nogills » Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:47 pm

Oh wow yeah the locked VIN is not my VIN number. Is there a way to get around this or will I need a new Ktuner unit?
nogills
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:28 am

Re: Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby KTuner » Sat Sep 07, 2019 5:04 pm

Contact the dealer you purchased from. This is their situation to handle and has nothing to do with us.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1917
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby nogills » Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:19 pm

Thanks, I have contacted them. Just out of curiosity, when I plugged the Ktuner into my car for the first time, why would it ask if I wanted to lock it to my ECU if it was already locked to another VIN?
nogills
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:28 am

Re: Not connected to Car, asking if I want to lock ECU?

Postby KTuner » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:54 pm

It asks to lock software to the data that the unit is locked to.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1917
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm


Return to KTuner Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests