Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby KTuner » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:23 pm

You can check your ECU number against our supported list on the CRV application page. The ECU is in the engine bay. www.KTuner.com/17crv
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Reflash to factory lost KTuner Cable

Postby jeff427 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:55 pm

I have foolishly misplaced my Ktuner cable and I need to flash back to factory, will this be possible without KTune? My vehicle is a 2013 Honda Accord V6. I have attempted various searches on this forum before having posted here, my apologies if there is already a thread on this topic.
jeff427
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:24 pm

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby KTuner » Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:54 pm

The KTuner is what flashes you via the software. A KTunerFlash unit, or a dealer who can flash you, would be required to flash back.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby Modded11MDX » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:22 am

Is there any way that I can save my exact stock programming so I can flash back to exactly what I had if in case I run into problems? Reason is, I just replaced my ECU back in October and I cannot risk anything going wrong after spending $1200 and the Acura dealer said they flashed it with the most updated version which I do not want to lose. Also, do you know any tuner familiar with the Ktuner who lives on Oahu?
Modded11MDX
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:43 am

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby KTuner » Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:07 pm

We generally include the latest updates in the KTuner software, so flashing back to factory is factory. We can't allow outside files to be flashed.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby Modded11MDX » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:04 am

KTuner wrote:We generally include the latest updates in the KTuner software, so flashing back to factory is factory. We can't allow outside files to be flashed.


Reason I asked if you knew anyone familiar with Ktuner who lives on Oahu is because I purchased a V2 Ktuner but something went wrong after the flash so I ended up taking it to the dealer and had to replace my ECU. TheAcura master tech is my long time friends brother so I know they weren't just trying to make me buy another ECU. If you do know anyone on Oahu who knows for sure how to install the Ktuner properly, I was wondering if they could help me install mine because I cannot afford another $1200 to replace my ECU. My skills are limited to mechanical only, I can rebuild almost any motor but don't understand anything about flashing and ECU's and how they work. My 2011 MDX has RV6 Jpipe, custom 4" intake pipe with K&N filter, Borla exhaust, I get check emissions systems warning daily which then trips the SH-AWD error sending me into front wheel drive only until I disconnect the battery for 10 seconds. Already ran a smoke test, changed all air/fuel sensors, O2 sensors, maf, alternator, put in a Optima battery, gas cap, adjusted valves, changed plugs, egr, pcv etc and still the same errors which I think are caused by the cats being no good even though my MDX only has 67K on it and is overly well maintained. This is why I want to try and install the Ktuner again so I can disable sensors and narrow down the cause of the errors but this time I want someone who installed it in theirs and knows how to do it. I already used my snap-on scanner and pulled codes but all I get is P0159, PO139 and PO174, PO171 which are all O2 related.
Modded11MDX
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:43 am

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby KTuner » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:34 pm

Something went wrong after the flash? Did you actually contact support about this? Likely didn't need to replace the ECU and the unit would still be locked to the old one if you didn't unlock it.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby Modded11MDX » Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:00 am

KTuner wrote:Something went wrong after the flash? Did you actually contact support about this? Likely didn't need to replace the ECU and the unit would still be locked to the old one if you didn't unlock it.

Yes I did contact you by email, this is Keith from Hawaii. The flash went ok I think because I tested the car for 10 minutes after flashing but it was night time already so the next morning I took my daughter to school then on the way home, the idle started going crazy, trans went berzerk and engine had zero power no matter how much gas you pressed. The diagnosis from Acura was that the engine ECU could not communicate with the trans ECU because something was corrupt and yes I did unlock unit and revert back to stock before giving up and towing it to the dealer. This is why I wanted to keep my current stock flash stored away instead of replacing it with yours because there is no guarantee without a doubt that it is exactly the same as the dealer flashed into the brand new ECU and if something does go wrong, I don't want to have to tell the dealer that I yet again screwed something up by trying to flash it with something they don't recommend.
Modded11MDX
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:43 am

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby KTuner » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:48 pm

We have the 100% factory software built into KTuner for every ECU that's supported. If it's not built into the software it will tell you that your software is not supported.
KTuner
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Ask your KTuner Reflash questions

Postby Modded11MDX » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:27 am

KTuner wrote:We have the 100% factory software built into KTuner for every ECU that's supported. If it's not built into the software it will tell you that your software is not supported.


I flashed it tonight and took it for a 10 minute drive but Honolulu traffic is brutal so I could not really open it up too much. So far so good and I'm hoping tomorrow it will still be ok. Will let you know how it goes. Thanks
Modded11MDX
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:43 am

PreviousNext

Return to KTuner Reflash

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests