Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Questions about software installation and registration
Post Reply
mautsukuda
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 8:01 pm

Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by mautsukuda »

Hi, I have a 2018 Civic Sport Hatch 6MT and I recently bought a used V1.2 unit from a friend who unlocked it before selling it to me. Everything seems to show that it's unlocked and ready for the next user, but for some reason I keep getting the message that the unit is still locked to another ECU. See attachments for reference. Also, Ktuner is blinking blue when attached to the car in accessory mode, which means "Unit Not Locked". Anybody have any idea what the problem is and how I can fix it?
Attachments
71562484_485766555612300_5873690660036411392_n.jpg
Error
(1.5 MiB) Not downloaded yet
70956933_1706433546154024_745420444990963712_n.jpg
Unlocked
(979.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
KTuner
Site Admin
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by KTuner »

According to his account information the original owner actually re-locked it after unlocking it. Plug the unit in by itself to verify.
ethanbwhitehead
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:15 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by ethanbwhitehead »

I have the exact same issue, litteraly the exact same. What is the solution?
ethanbwhitehead
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:15 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by ethanbwhitehead »

mautsukuda wrote:Hi, I have a 2018 Civic Sport Hatch 6MT and I recently bought a used V1.2 unit from a friend who unlocked it before selling it to me. Everything seems to show that it's unlocked and ready for the next user, but for some reason I keep getting the message that the unit is still locked to another ECU. See attachments for reference. Also, Ktuner is blinking blue when attached to the car in accessory mode, which means "Unit Not Locked". Anybody have any idea what the problem is and how I can fix it?
Did you ever figure this out?
KTuner
Site Admin
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by KTuner »

If you plug a unit in by itself and it's actually unlocked you'll get a message that the unit has not yet been locked to an ECU. If it instead asks you to lock to a vehicle, it hasn't been unlocked.
tpanda88
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:25 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by tpanda88 »

Im on the same boat. Picked it up second hand. Any way to resolve this?
KTuner
Site Admin
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by KTuner »

tpanda88 wrote:Im on the same boat. Picked it up second hand. Any way to resolve this?
If you bought a unit second hand and it's locked there is nothing you can do other than work with the seller to get it unlocked.
tpanda88
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:25 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by tpanda88 »

Ahh shit. That wont be able to happen bought it on kijiji. Have no way of contacting the old seller. Pictures show that its unlocked but as you say its locked.
KTuner
Site Admin
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:13 pm

Re: Unlocked unit won't lock to my ECU. HELP!

Post by KTuner »

Unfortunately the first person who tried to have a stolen unit unlocked ruined this for everyone.
Post Reply

Return to “KTuner Software Installation”